Delivery by Diana Prusik

Delivery is mainly focused on the Wilson family – past and present – and their close knit group of friends. They run a flower shop which means that they are involved in all the ups and down of their small town of Mount Helicon. Prusik hits a lot of serious and painful issues, like death, guilt, alcoholism, loneliness in marriages, and Alzheimer. The world that is created in this novel is real, but there is Hope!

I had mixed feeling, because there were a few issues I had while reading Delivery but by the end I was pulled in to the story and brought to tears. The story jumped from the present to the past during the first part of the book, and it was a little hard to follow. Maybe I just wasn’t expecting it, because as the book went along I became less confused. Also, the Wilson parents’ first names, Jake and Ida, were used more often than not, even when the story was being told from one of their adult daughter’s point of view. So, it was harder to connect people. I’m assuming the reason why the author did that is because the point of view changes often. The Wilson family members tell most of the story. However, their friends’ point of view is the focus of several chapters though out the book, which includes Marianne the dominated house wife, her daughter Sophie who works at the flower shop, and the newly widowed Eileen. After finishing the book, I see why she wanted to do that, and I enjoyed seeing the different points of view. However, it added to the confusion I experienced as I tried to get in to the book and figure out how was who. I’m glad I finished Delivery, but can’t whole heartily recommend it to others.

I was provided an e-copy of this book from Tyndale in exchange for my honest opinion.

Leave a comment