Like a River From Its Course by Kelli Stuart

I seem to have so little time to read recently and it saddens me greatly! However, I am privileges to have the opportunity to invest my time in an amazing book like this. I highly recommend this book to all!

A beautiful, heart wrenching story of loss, love, terrible tragedies and amazing forgiveness from the brave men and women of Ukraine. I did not realize that they “faced more deaths per capita than any other country in World War II due to their high Jewish population (Jews were killed by both the Nazis and the Soviet Red Army), and their rich soil, which particularly interested Hitler.” You can tell that Kelli Stuart lovingly and carefully compiled her 15 years of research in her writing of this book. She focuses on four different individuals that are loosely rooted in the true stories she compiled. I tend to love books and even movies like this one, where stories are honest, broken, and yet redeemed. Yes, I cry with the characters and the pain and loss they endure, but I also feel that after reading a book like Like a River From Its Course I have grown with the characters and learned from them and their experiences.

“In the still, dark moment of this frozen night, I embrace [peace]. I think of our life before the bombs, the river of our days flowing so calmly in a direction that I thought would last forever. In a flash, that river was turned, unexpected and quick, dragging us along this unforeseen path. Like a river from its course, life has swirled away from all I expected or planned. Sluggish and slow, this river carves a new path. There are calmer waters that wait.”

**Disclosure: I received a copy of this book from Kregel Publications in exchange for a fair and honest review.

Like a River From its Course cover & more

Leave a Reply

