Tattoo, Yes or No?

Yes, I do have a tattoo. It’s from a James Avery design called Spring Butterfly. (I love James Avery’s  jewelry!) “The butterfly is a symbol of the Resurrection. The beautiful form of the butterfly bursting forth from the seemingly lifeless chrysalis suggests Christ’s victory over death.” I loved, loved that imagery of bursting forth with new life in Christ!! I also had the color red added, because of the importance of Christ’s blood in our new life. Reminds me of the hymn Nothing But the Blood…

“What can wash away my sin?
Nothing but the blood of Jesus;
What can make me whole again?
Nothing but the blood of Jesus.”.

I got it in 1998, my second year of college. If I remember right, Matt was interested in getting a tattoo first. So, I decided to join him in this permanent experience one weekend. Matt got the Alpha and Omega design, also from James Avery. “The symbolism of the alpha and the omega, are the first and last letters of the Greek alphabet. The letters have been used since the fourth century expressing scriptural proof of Our Lord’s divinity. In the book of Revelation, Christ calls Himself the Alpha and Omega in reference to His everlasting and almighty power. He meant that he existed before anything else and will exist after all else ceases. He is the First and the Last, the Beginning and the End. The alpha and the omega in this charm are signs of totality. The message is comforting and direct: Our Lord has always been with us and will be with us forever.” Wow! Who knew a tattoo could say so much!!

I had a poster of some James Avery designs and their meaning. We just took it with us, and they copied the designs we pick to make them bigger (for Matt) and smaller (for me)! My tattoo is on my ankle. Matt’s is on his shoulder. I don’t think either of us have any regrets. He wouldn’t have minded getting his a little bigger. I actually looked at getting mine slightly smaller, but then I couldn’t have added the red. So, we’re good!

What about you? Any tattoos? If so, why did you get it, and do you have any regrets? If not, have you ever considered getting one?

(In responding to the “Would you ever get a tattoo?” (topic #207) blogging idea from The Daily Post)

7 thoughts on “Tattoo, Yes or No?

  1. Ok, not judging anyones decision, but I believe tattoos are not pleasing to God. In 1 Corinthians 6:19 ‘Or do you not know that your body is the temple of the Holy Spirit who is in you, whom you have from God

  2. Ahh…added to quick. And in leviticus 19:28 ‘you should not make any cuttings in your flesh for the dead, not tattoo any marks on you, I am Lord.’ In Genesis 1:31 after creating man ‘then God saw everything He had made, and indeed it was very good…’ just my reasons for not getting one.

    • Hey, Rach! Thanks for your input. The verse I’ve mainly heard against tattoos is the one from Leviticus. But we weren’t doing it for the dead or anything like that! The way you are using the one in Genesis seems like people could use it to say no to lots of things like makeup, earrings, glasses, shaving…things that are added, but not is God’s original design?

      Matt and I actually viewed a renewal, a re-commitment to Christ…as you can tell by the meanings. Yes, it was a little unconventional!. However, It’s been very interesting, because people ask about our tattoos a lot, especially mine because it’s so easily seen. It has become an easy conversation starter about the Gospel!

      “You were bought with a price [purchased with a preciousness and paid for, made His own]. So then, honor God and bring glory to Him in your body.” 1 Corinthians 6:20. I believe that I have dishonored God (and the preciousness in which He views me) in not taking care of my body physically more than with my tattoo! But I’m working on that too!

      Hope everything is going well with you and your family, Rachel! We miss you! Your house is still empty and waiting for you, just in case you guys need it soon!! 🙂

  3. I agree, it is a great way to share the gospel. I’m not saying I’m right or your right..I just have never had that desire to have one. And, true I’ve often wondered about make-up and such…things we may never know or understand til we meet Jesus face to face, only what convictions we have here on earth! 🙂 we miss you too! T and Ri have dolls named Abbye and Hannah that they still play with often…haha. have a great day!

    • I understand. I was just responding back with what Matt and I were thinking.

      Concerning make-up, I once heard someone say something like, “If the barn needs painting, then paint it!” I liked that!! Improve what you have. Look the best you can!

      • Lovely post, thank you for sharing!
        I like that “If the barn needs painting, then paint it!”, very well spoken! I have many tattoo’s and I’m not a Christian, but I believe my body is a temple and I celibrate the joy of having it by decorating it. I also have the feeling that when I get a tattoo, the pain (I have some in painfull places) clears my mind and makes way for a new beginning and closure to the past…

Leave a Reply

