The Read-Aloud Family by Sarah Mackenzie

I have been a reading to my kids since they were little, because I love books myself! After

connecting with Sarah Mackenzie in her Read-Aloud Revival community a few years ago, I had a clearer picture of why reading aloud is important and what to read. However, her new book covers deeper the why-to-read-aloud and the how-to-make-it-work. It also includes read-aloud book suggestions for different age groups, which are great book lists.

I have book darts all through this book, because as the subtitle states I want to be “making meaningful and lasting connections with [my] kids”.  I will keep the rest of this review brief, because the book darts are mostly just reminders for me. For example the reminder of the importance of reading aloud at ALL ages, EVEN when our days are busy. I need to actually “steal” time from other areas to make it a priority in my family. I want to build memories and connections with my children through stories now, even if it’s only ten minutes each day. During these times, I want the kids to be inspired by heroes, walk in other’s shoes and have compassion, and learn to think. Also, I simply want them to love stories and dive into books themselves for the rest of their lives! Those are just a few of the reminders I needed from The Read-Aloud Family.

**Disclosure: I received a copy of this book from Read-Aloud Revival in exchange for a fair and honest review.

Leave a comment