Death by the Book by Julianna Deering

This is Julianna Deering’s 2nd book in the The Drew Farthering Mystery series. The first was Rules of Murder. I would definitely recommend startingDeath by the Book book cover  there to get to know the characters, their relationships and the setting better.

Aunt Ruth (Madeline’s aunt from America) has unexpectedly shown up. She’s worried about Madeline and suspicious of Drew’s intentions. Although a great twist to throw into their whirlwind romance, it also causes some separation in the witty crime-fighting trio from book 1 — Drew, Madeline and Nick, Drew’s best friend.

I was excited about this series. It’s been clean with good messages throughout – the kind of books I wouldn’t mind passing along to my family or friends. I love the setting – both time and location. The characters of this small English town are quirky additions. However, I haven’t been truly won over as a fan. However, on a positive note, all the book covers have been very creative! 🙂

…But it was truly a surprising ending! I wasn’t expecting that!

And you?

 

 

I received this book for free from Bethany House in exchange for my honest, unbiased opinion.

Leave a Reply

