Heart Wide Open by Shellie Rushing Tomlinson

As I read the subtitle of Tomlinson’s Heart Wide Open… “Trading Mundane Faith for an Exuberant Life with Jesus”, the back cover summary… Heart Wide Open book cover“Shellie invites you to answer the call of your restless heart and refuse to settle for anything less than the intimate friendship of God” and the many recommendations, I knew I needed this book! So I found out what date Heart Wide Open would be available for review, marked that on my calendar and set a reminder. I purposely waited to choose a book from this publisher, making sure I wouldn’t be tied up in another book.

Once Heart Wide Open by Shellie Rushing Tomlinson arrived, I consumed it. I read, reread, and worked through the Bible Study/Discussion Guide in the back. I marked, highlighted and dog-eared page after page. I took pictures of sections and texted them to my husband, mom, mother-in-law, other family members, and friends! My husband feels like he has already read this book with everything I shared! (It is labeled as being for women, but he would also recommend this book!!) 🙂

This is a book from Tomlinson’s raw cry to the Lord, “I admit it. I don’t love You like I should, but I want to love You. Help!”. Her honesty touched my heart as I prayed along with her, her humor allowed me not to cry on every page, and her practicality encouraged me!

Just the titles of the chapters are great!! 1) When All You Can Bring Him is a Broken Want-To, 2) Courage for Us Not-So-Super Saints, 3) I Suppose CliffsNotes Are Out, 4) Does God Want Out of Our Quiet Times?, 5) Are Some of Us Stuck with Messed-Up Mustard Seeds?, 6) We Are Always on Our Mind, 7) May We Have Permission to Slap ‘Em Silly in Jesus’s Name?, 8) Till We See Him Face to Face. Also, don’t miss the Bible Study & Discussion Guide at the back.

I HIGHLY recommend this book. You’ll cry, laugh, and grow in your passion for Jesus!

“Father God loves you with a steadfast love. He wants to do life with you. You’re not an isolated case, someone who can’t find God. He is just as available to you as He has been to any other human being who has ever drawn a breath. This is His promise: ‘You will seek Me and find Me when you search for Me with all your heart’ (Jeremiah 29:13).” -pg. 23

 

Disclosure of Material Connection: Blogging for Books provided this book to me for free in exchange for an honest review.

3 thoughts on “Heart Wide Open by Shellie Rushing Tomlinson

  1. Dear Sarah, I found your review just now via a Google alert. This road weary, flesh is weak author just had to tell you thank you from the bottom of my sincere heart for posting. I’m glad my words encouraged you to seek Jesus. He has most assuredly used YOU this morning to encourage me in my work. Thank you again! (P.S. This is so sweet, Mama just might want to invite you to Thanksgiving when she reads it!)

  2. So glad you found my review and took the time to comment! 🙂
    Yes, I loved your book and how you encouraged me toward our Savior. Now my book is making its rounds — My mom took it as soon as she could and my friend has dibs on it next!
    I’m glad God could you me to bless your heart when you needed it! Keep allowing God to use your gifts.
    (And tell your Mama “Hi”!)

Leave a Reply

