Riley Mae and the Rock Shocker Trek by Jill Osborne

Riley Mae and the Rock Shocker is the first book in a new Faith Girlz! series, The Good News Shoes, focused on 7th grader Riley Mae. She Riley Mae and the Rock Shocker Trek book coverloves sports and being girly so her stumbling into the position of spokesperson for the Swiftriver Shoe Company actually seems like a perfect fit. However, there are downsides that she didn’t realize at first – missing most of softball season, making her best friend mad, and even the guilt of promoting expensive shoes. Also, there seems to be a bit of a mystery surrounding Swiftriver Shoe Company!?

First I have to say say that the cover is sweet and catches your eye – Love it!! Secondly, I expected a cute, clean read. However, it was so much more!! I was so impressed that this first time children’s author Jill Osborne could make the characters so real in a shorter book, but she’s brilliant! The story dealt with deeper issues, such as a friend does not have enough food because her father is out of work. Also, there is more to the story, but I don’t want to ruin anything…I’ll just finish by saying that I chose to review this book because I know my girls will love to read it, however I am now looking forward to book 2!!

Disclosure: I received a copy of this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review and the opinions I have expressed are my own.

One thought on “Riley Mae and the Rock Shocker Trek by Jill Osborne

Leave a Reply

