The Outcast by Jolina Petersheim

The Outcast book cover

The Outcast is an amazing story of pain, pleasure, consequences, forgiveness and freedom. It also shows the dynamics of relationships: from fathers and daughters, to siblings, to childhood friendships, to strangers who become closer than family.

It is actually a modern retelling of The Scarlet Letter; the story is set in an Old Order Mennonite community. The characters are so well written. They are real and complex, not all likable, but definitely touchable. Oh and little Eli — my momma-heart went out to that little guy!

I was surprised to find out that it is Jolina Petersheim’s debut novel! I’m so excited for her to continue writing. I don’t read really any books with Amish or Mennonite settings, but I do plan to continue to check out more from her!!

I highly recommend The Outcast by Jolina Petersheim to all 🙂

Disclosure: I received this book free from Tyndale House Publishers. It was not required that I give a positive review, but to solely express my own thoughts and opinions.

 

4 thoughts on “The Outcast by Jolina Petersheim

Leave a Reply

