Desperate: Hope for the Mom Who Needs to Breathe by Sarah Mae and Sally Clarkson

Have you ever really, Really, REALLY liked a book that you thought “I might as well highlight the whole Desperate book coverbook!”? Well, that is me with Desperate! After just seeing the title, I knew I would read this book and am so glad I did. (I was even extra blessed to get to review it!) I’ve needed a book like this for several years and would highly recommend it to all moms!! We moms may be exhausted and desperate….“But you have a faithful God who loves you and whom I believe will bring you what you need to get through. There is no one answer for everyone, because the Lord works differently in each of our lives, but you need to know that He hasn’t forgotten you. He doesn’t forget His children, big or little.” (from Sarah)

 

Sally Clarkson, an older mom, became a mentor for Sarah Mae, a younger mom, and now they are joining forces to minister to other moms. At the beginning of each chapter they share a letter from Sarah and then Sally’s response to it. Next they each share very honestly and beautifully from their heart. And don’t worry; We are not given a new to-do-list, but instead understanding and encouragement…

 

“I came to realize over the years that the forming of their souls was a hard, long-distance race. In retrospect I can now see how it has become an essential part of my spiritual service of worship to God. He entrusted these precious souls into my hands. The work of motherhood was the way He wanted me to serve and love Him…In order to stay the course, we mothers must see the nurturing of our children as a spiritual call in order to have integrity in our own Christian lives.” (from Sally)

 

The book is divided into three sections — 1: The Dream Life…Altered, 2: Getting Real About Mama-hood, and 3: The Redeeming — with chapters breaking topics down. At the end of each chapter is “Your Turn” with verses, questions, suggested activity and even a video. Then at the end of the book is a question and answer with Sally Clarkson.

 

Now, go get a copy for you and a few more to share with your mommy friends!! 🙂

 

Disclosure: I received this ebook free from the publisher through the BookSneeze book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review and the opinions I have expressed are my own.
Leave a Reply

