Prayers of a Stranger: A Christmas Story by Davis Bunn

I was doubly looking forward to this… Reviewing a Christmas book at Christmas time (I love Christmas!) AND getting to read a book from a recommended author (just hadn’t gotten around to reading any of his yet). Then some of life’s craziness kicked in and my reading was broken up by sickness, birthdays, my grandpa’s death, travel, sickness, Christmas, and more sickness. I feel like my review also may have a type of brokenness to it. Anyway, on to the the review—

Through Prayers of a Stranger Davis Bunn drops us into the lives of two couples – neighbors – one younger, one older. They are both dealing in loss, relationship issues and big decisions. The wives end up going to Israel and what a trip that is! Family, job and health issues continue to mount, however these two couples grow into great friends as prayers are answered and hearts are healed.

I found the story interesting and an easy read. However, I also felt like the novel was trying to cover a lot of activity and a lot of people. I didn’t really connect with the characters and their emotions, but it was more of a skimming of what could have been. I do plan to read more of Mr. Bunn’s, but didn’t love this one of his.

 

Disclosure: I received this ebook free from the publisher through the BookSneeze book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review and the opinions I have expressed are my own.

Leave a Reply

