Blue Moon Bay by Lisa Wingate

“The future is a blank page, but not a mystery.” – a quote shared with Heather Hampton the main character by her father.  

You looking for family drama, romantic confusion, a wise elderly Mennonite woman named Ruth, and more? (I don’t want to keep going because I was surprised at everything that occurred toward the end of the book. So I don’t want to spoil it for you!) Then look no further. Pick up your copy of Lisa Wingate’s Blue Moon Bay today! Actually since it is the second book of Moses Lake series, I would suggest checking out the first book, Larkspur Cove. However, I found that I was able to read Blue Moon Bay without feeling lost even though it was a little slow at times.

I was very impressed with how Blue Moon Bay grabbed my attention. When I started this book I didn’t have time to read often – due to family circumstances and other obligations. This usually makes it hard to get in to a story. You know what I mean? However, Lisa Wingate’s story and characters held my attention even with the little bit of time I was able to spend in it. Heather Hampton, her family, and Blaine Underhill (a local banker and Heather’s former crush in high school) were layered characters. We get to know the real them the more we get into the book. I wouldn’t mind going back to the first book to see what I missed.

Here’s a great quote on family towards the end of the book:

I’d been so busy focusing on my self-determined parameters of what I felt my family should be, that I’d missed the beauty of what they actually were – fragile, flawed, heroic, imperfect, champions of lost causes. Each with things to learn and things to teach. God had knit us together like plantings in a garden – wild and unique above ground, blooming in different ways at different times, the roots intertwined deep beneath the soil.

Very beautiful and true!

Disclosure: I received the book free from Bethany House Book Reviewers’ program. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

Leave a Reply

