Review of As One Devil to Another by Richard Platt (and free copy to give away!!)

The subtitle of Richard Platt’s debut book explains it’s style and gives it some very big shoes to fill – “A Fiendish Correspondence in the Tradition of C. S. Lewis’ The Screwtape Letters”. I haven’t read The Screwtape Letters in quite a while, so I can’t honestly compare. However, Walter Hooper, who is the C. S. Lewis’s biographer and foremost Lewis authority, says that As One Devil to Another is “a stunning achievement, the finest example of the genre of diabolical correspondence to appear since this genre was popularized by C. S. Lewis.” I would say that that is one huge positive review for this book! I did notice several nods toward C. S. Lewis and some of his writings in the book. In Mr. Platt’s bio, you find out that he is a huge fan of Lewis and his works. So, to all you fans of C. S. Lewis, as I am, read this book not as competition to Lewis’ book, but as a homage to him, which is how Platt meant it to be.

As One Devil to Another is written as a set of letters from Slashreap, the mentor demon, to Scardagger, the demon-in-training. Scardagger is assigned to a “client”, the human, which he will try to tempt, distract, promote, wound, … anything to keep her away from the “Adversary”, God. We get to vaguely see the “client’s” story unfold, but the main point is the glimpse behind enemy lines through the letters. Slashreap starts by reviewing Scardagger on the “four earthly elements of Demonic Virtue”, which are Cowardice, Excess, Injustice, and Lassitude. Then the letters address specific issues that Scardagger needs to be aware of about the client – weakness, friends she should keep, people who don’t need to be in her life, distractions, etc. Through out the letters Slashreap explains many things from their point of view and how they don’t want their clients to understand the “Adversary’s” purpose – prayer, love, technology, pain, relationships, community, pleasure, etc. Also, there is a twist at the end of the book!

I recommend As One Devil to Another as a fiction book that is a great reminder that there is more to our lives than just what we can see. Our choices not only affect us, but all those around us… and they may make an eternal difference. So how are we living? Are we cowards – do we not face our fears or maybe just pretend there is nothing to be afraid of? Are we wrapped up and distracted by an excess of ____________? To quote Slashreap, “All excesses are to be encouraged, expect, naturally, excessive devotion to the Adversary.” Do we excuse our behavior because everyone else is doing it or because I’ll only do it this once? We need to remember that God never promised His way would be easy, but He does promise that He will always be with us! Let’s live a productive life that scares the devil and points the world to Jesus!

So, are you interested in reading As One Devil to Another? I hope so, but before you go, I have a free copy to give away!! (Thanks to Tyndale House Publishers.) Just comment below and then share this post at least once via email, Facebook, your own blog,… and I will announce the winner in a week. 🙂

Tyndale House Publishers has provided me with a complimentary copy of this book for my honest review.

_________________________

Other book reviews you might want to check out:

Cure for the Common Life by Max Lucado

Night of the Living Dead Christian by Matt Mikalatos

Spiritual Warfare for Women by Leighann McCoy

The Search Committee by Tim Owens

Love & War by John & Stasi Eldredge

 

8 thoughts on “Review of As One Devil to Another by Richard Platt (and free copy to give away!!)

  1. Sounds like a solid read! 🙂 Unfortunately, I’m probably a continent away, so not sure I qualify for the prize! Enjoyed your review though. Good luck to the winner. 🙂

    • I kept you in the drawing. I decided that if you won, I would figure if it would work for you (since it’s actually a certificate)…but you didn’t win, this time. Please stop by again!

  2. I love C.S. Lewis’ work. Thanks for keeping all of us up to speed in the literary world, Sarah. If it weren’t for your reviews I’d never now what book to read!

  3. This review changed my mind about this book. By the title, I initially didn’t think that I’d be interested in spending my time on this. But your well-written, favorable comments made me rethink and I believe that I would like to read this!

  4. Thank you all for stopping by, commenting and sharing my review. I love to read and like to share what I think about a book, so this is a great combination for me! The winner of this book is ….comment #3, Tiffany. Congratulations! 🙂

Leave a Reply

