The Future Door (No Place Like Holmes Volume 2) by Jason Lethcoe

Reviewing a book like this is fun because I can involve the whole family! My oldest daughter is a fan of mysteries, so I knew she would be as excited about reading this together as I was. We started with No Place Like Holmes, which is book #1 of this juvenile fiction series. The stories in both books are fun, suspenseful and engaging. Griffin Sharpe with his keen observation skills and his uncle Rupert Snodgrass with his inventions make quite a detective team. As I read out loud through the books, my kids always wanted one more chapter. They liked hearing about Griffin, who was closer to their ages, but still so important in solving some serious mysteries. I liked the book series having a main character their age who learned the importance of accepting and using his gifts and talents. He was an example to his uncle who had been living in bitterness for most of his life. Griffin quietly but consistently lived his faith in Jesus.

In this book the action centers around Rupert’s stolen time travel machine and the Moriartys (the bad guys we were introduced to in book 1). Hold on as they jump to the past, future, and present to save the future of London and the world. It’s fun to read their descriptions of different things in the future (which is our present), like chewing gum, GPS, and cars! I had my kids try to figure out what they were talking about!

We are looking forward to reading more in this No Place Like Homes Series.

“Please, Mr. Lethcoe, write more soon!” -Abbye, my oldest

Disclosure: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

Leave a Reply

