40 Ways to Get Closer to God by Jerry MacGregor

Jerry MacGregor wrote this book as a “God Challenge,” which he explains to mean he wanted to “create something that would challenge you, ask you to try some ideas and to do some work, with the end result being that you’ll have moved a bit further down the path in your spiritual walk.” That peaked my interest! He goes on to explain that “everything here is practical and real” and “from his experience.” Real, practical, and proven ideas are very good!! I was relived that he also reminded the readers that this book isn’t a shortcut or a miracle experience, because real spiritual growth takes time and effort. Very true! It reminded me of James 1:27–“Pure and genuine religion in the sight of God the Father means caring for orphans and widows in their distress and refusing to let the world corrupt you.” Let’s show the world the love of Jesus!

This book is written as a 40 day challenge, but I think that is way too rushed. I would recommend slowing it down and focusing on one challenge for a week or two. The ideas range from serving someone to fasting from media to memorizing scripture to even planning a party. Some may challenge you more than me or vice versa, but by the end of the 40 ways, I promise, that everyone will be stretched and inspired. Actually I think this would be an excellent resource to use with the whole family – to put some feet on your kids’ faith too!

The best way to end this review is in Jerry MacGregor’s own words…“If you too are a wreck, my prayer for you is that you’ll discover you have much greater spiritual depth than you thought when you began this book. I wish you all the best as you start walking the path.”

Disclosure: I received the book free from Bethany House Book Reviewers’ program. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

One thought on “40 Ways to Get Closer to God by Jerry MacGregor

Leave a Reply

