Love & War by John & Stasi Eldredge

**Warning** This is not just a easy read that nicely skims over the difficulties in marriage. No, this is a book that challenges you to break free, give & accept forgiveness, be transformed, live a life of love, and grow closer to God – all in the context of marriage.

Here’s a great quote from the book that seem to sum it up beautifully….

Being married costs everything. Tears… Incredible vulnerability and sacrifice. It causes you to take a deeper look inside your heart and soul, your desires and your personality… It is not easy. But that does not come as a surprise to you. You already know that!… Of course loving costs everything–look at the Cross. But loving is always worth it…We all know that loving in hard. Marriage is hard. It is hard because it is opposed. The devil hates marriage… But God loves marriage!… He is for you… Marriage is going to ask everything of you, and that is why you must have a vision for it… We live in a great love story, set in the midst of war. We need each other–desperately. We have been entrusted with the heart of another human being. Our loving will prove to the world that love is real. We will play out before watching eyes the Great Love Story of the ages.

WOW!

Love & War is written by the best-selling authors of Wild at Heart and Captivating. It has the subtitle  “Find Your Way to Something Beautiful in Your Marriage.” I was expecting to fly through this book. I’m always interested in learning and improving. Also, John and Stasi Eldredge are authors that I’ve found very engaging to read. However, I took about three months on this book, which is super slow for me. Honestly, the book was a little slow, especially at the beginning. However, I found that I was challenged and inspired. I appreciated their honesty and willingness to encourage while correcting the readers. Also, I would love to do the Love & War DVD series with some other couples.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through Blogging for Books, Waterbrook Multnomah Publisher’s book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. 

4 thoughts on “Love & War by John & Stasi Eldredge

  1. I would have jumped at reading this book before this review. I appreciate the “warning” to not take it lightly. The good thing is I’m probably more interested now. The challenge!

Leave a Reply

