How Jesus Helps Us Become More Dependent -From Stumbling into Grace

…Jesus experienced distress. Not because He was afraid of death, but because He dreaded being separated from His Father and receiving His wrath. But He endured that unimaginable ache alone… Every single person abandoned Him during His time of deepest need. And that’s why the author of Hebrews was able to preach, “God is the One who made all things, and all things are for his glory. He wanted to have many children share his glory, so he made the One who leads people to salvation perfect through suffering… And now he can help those who are tempted, because he himself suffered and was tempted” (Hebrews 2:10, 18 NCV). Jesus didn’t supernaturally skip to the front of the pain line. He chose instead to be an empathetic Hero, sharing perfectly in the frailty and loneliness of our humanity.

…Jesus didn’t live an easy life or die an easy death. The glory of Easter was preceded by the sorrow of absolute rejection. Our Redeemer knows what it feels like to be stripped of all comfort and ease. He experienced the betrayal of best friends. He sobbed alone, with a single person offering support… He shouldered the greatest possible anguish, being completely abandoned by everyone including God, so we would never have to carry that burden ourselves.

…I didn’t used to believe Jesus was enough for me. I probably wouldn’t have said it out loud, though… But somewhere in the recesses of my heart and mind, I was afraid that it the people I loved most abandoned me, I would die… In reality I was an emotional colander, always hoping some human could plug the holes in my soul… It wasn’t until I hit the bottom I was terrified of that I found that love of Christ really is enough to sustain me, no matter what. Buckling under the weight of my own life is what helped me fall into the arms of God. I didn’t just stumble into His grace; I collapsed there in a messy heap! And you know what? It’s by far the best thing that’s ever happened to me. —Stumbling into Grace by Lisa Harper

[I’m still in the process of really understanding that Jesus is enough for me, so I want to thank Lisa Harper for her heartfelt honesty. She just seemed to writing out of my heart and my experiences. God is definitely using her book to ministry to others!]

Jesus, thank You for Your promises in Your Word that remind me that You are all I need. Thank You that You welcome even my weakness, because those around me can truly see You when they definitely know that it’s not me! Help me when I’m tempted to rely on myself. I need You – wether it’s resting in You or stepping out in faith. Amen!

Leave a Reply

