Highly Recommended Book – Wonderland Creek

Wonderland Creek by Lynn Austin

I know I’m suppose to include a summary, but you can read the book description yourself on Amazon (while you are there you might as well BUY it!) Anyway, let’s get down to business… I have heard of Lynn Austin, but had never read any of her’s books. (That will soon change!) I picked this book, because I would finally get to read Mrs. Austin and because I share the main character’s love of books. Honestly, after reading this book, I feel like I should lower some of my ratings of other books because I want this one to stand out! So, if I could, I would give Wonderland Creek at least 6 stars out of 5. However, since I can’t, I can highly recommend it to all!

Wonderland Creek was sooooooooooo (I could go on!) much more than I expected! The characters were multifaceted. The plot was excellent and enjoyable. The descriptions in the book – of the mountains of Kentucky, the people, the emotions – completely brought everything to life. The writing was full of wit and charm. Here’s a small example from the beginning of the book: “Mrs. Beasley [the head librarian] looked staid and unsmiling, but that wasn’t unusual. Librarians are serious people, seldom given to idle jocularity. The reason for this, I believe, is because we are overwhelmed by the enormous number of good books waiting to be read, leaving little time for frivolity. My personal list of must-read books presents a daunting challenge; I can’t even imagine the pressure that our head librarian must be under.” (I could share more, but it’s not quite the same as reading it in the story.) You want action? Mystery? Drama? Murder? Romance? Silly librarians who mature in so many ways? 100 year old ladies who still know how to use a gun? This book has it all and more! It is not a book you want to pass by!

Disclosure: I received the book free from Bethany House Book Reviewers’ program. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

2 thoughts on “Highly Recommended Book – Wonderland Creek

Leave a Reply

