Stumbling into Grace Journal Entry 11 -Becoming Less Critical

Hope for our ongoing stories… For the sake of the gospel and the sake of the mistake-prone people we rub shoulders with every day, Christians have to recognize that Christ alone has the perfect combination of righteousness and compassion to stand in judgement of the human heart. We have to remember the only One worthy of condemning us chose instead to pardon us. Only then – when we’re honest about the fact that apart from God’s grace we deserve to be damned too – will we find ourselves extending kindness instead of criticism. Only then will we be able to empty our bulging pockets of rocks. –Lisa Harper in Stumbling into Grace

So, today I’ve been thinking about becoming less critical and judgmental, Jesus,and…

The woman bought in adultery reminds me so much of myself. My sin is every bit as black as hers; I’ve just never been publicly exposed like that. Thank You for disciplining me privately and forgiving me lavishly. Thank You for applying holy ointment to my wounds instead of rubbing salt in them. Only the velvet chains of You love can keep my wondering heart faithful. So I pray as King David, please hem me in behind and before, Lord. And help me to extend some small measure of the grace You’ve given me to the people You place in my path. –Lisa Harper in Stumbling into Grace (I know, again! But she just seems to be writing from MY heart!)

Jesus, help me to live by these verses in how to and now not to respond to those around me…

**Watch the way you talk. Let nothing foul or dirty come out of your mouth. Say only what helps, each word a gift. –Ephesians 4:29 (MSG)**

I love the word picture “each word a gift”! It reminds me that what comes out of my mouth matters, and I need to be more careful.

**Be happy with those who are happy, and weep with those who weep. Live in harmony with each other. Don’t be too proud to enjoy the company of ordinary people. And don’t think you know it all! –Romans 12:15-16 (NLT)**

Don’t you love it when people understand (or at least try to understand) how we are feeling. I do too! Also, I’ll emphasize the “don’t think you know it all” point for myself!! 🙂

Any thought from you, Readers?

Leave a Reply

