Stumbling into Grace Journal Entry 10 – The Gift of Rest

So, today I’ve been thinking about the much-needed gift of real rest You offer us, Jesus, and…

I have much to learn in this important area. As Lisa Harper says in her book, “Busyness isn’t a Spiritual Gift”! Amen! Christians need to show the world something different. Let’s look in Your Word for more about rest…

**True rest comes through trusting in God**

Psalm 37:3-7 (AMP)

Trust (lean on, rely on, and be confident) in the Lord and do good; so shall you dwell in the land and feed surely on His faithfulness, and truly you shall be fed.

    Delight yourself also in the Lord, and He will give you the desires and secret petitions of your heart.

Commit your way to the Lord [roll and repose each care of your load on Him]; trust (lean on, rely on, and be confident) also in Him and He will bring it to pass.

And He will make your uprightness and right standing with God go forth as the light, and your justice and right as [the shining sun of] the noonday.

Be still and rest in the Lord; wait for Him and patiently lean yourself upon Him; fret not yourself because of him who prospers in his way, because of the man who brings wicked devices to pass.

Psalm 91:1-2 (AMP)

HE WHO dwells in the secret place of the Most High shall remain stable and fixed under the shadow of the Almighty [Whose power no foe can withstand].

    I will say of the Lord, He is my Refuge and my Fortress, my God; on Him I lean and rely, and in Him I [confidently] trust!

**True rest comes through resting in God**

Psalm 23:1-3 (AMP)

 THE LORD is my Shepherd [to feed, guide, and shield me], I shall not lack.

    He makes me lie down in [fresh, tender] green pastures; He leads me beside the still and restful waters.

He refreshes and restores my life (my self); He leads me in the paths of righteousness [uprightness and right standing with Him–not for my earning it, but] for His name’s sake.

Psalm 62:1, 5 (AMP)

 FOR GOD alone my soul waits in silence; from Him comes my salvation….   My soul, wait only upon God and silently submit to Him; for my hope and expectation are from Him.

**True rest comes through experiencing God’s presence**

Exodus 33:14 (AMP)

And the Lord said, My Presence shall go with you, and I will give you rest.

Psalm 31:19-20 (AMP)

Oh, how great is Your goodness, which You have laid up for those who fear, revere, and worship You, goodness which You have wrought for those who trust and take refuge in You before the sons of men!

In the secret place of Your presence You hide them from the plots of men; You keep them secretly in Your pavilion from the strife of tongues.

**True rest comes through coming to Jesus**

Matthew 11:28-30 (AMP)

Come to Me, all you who labor and are heavy-laden and overburdened, and I will cause you to rest. [I will ease and relieve and refresh your souls.]

Take My yoke upon you and learn of Me, for I am gentle (meek) and humble (lowly) in heart, and you will find rest (relief and ease and refreshment and recreation and blessed quiet) for your souls.

For My yoke is wholesome (useful, good–not harsh, hard, sharp, or pressing, but comfortable, gracious, and pleasant), and My burden is light and easy to be borne.

John 16:33 (AMP)

I have told you these things, so that in Me you may have [perfect] peace and confidence. In the world you have tribulation and trials and distress and frustration; but be of good cheer [take courage; be confident, certain, undaunted]! For I have overcome the world. [I have deprived it of power to harm you and have conquered it for you.]

**True rest comes through the Spirit of God**

Isaiah 63:14 (AMP)

Like the cattle that go down into the valley [to find better pasturage, refuge, and rest], the Spirit of the Lord caused them to rest. So did You lead Your people [Lord] to make for Yourself a beautiful and glorious name [to prepare the way for the acknowledgment of Your name by all nations].

One thought on “Stumbling into Grace Journal Entry 10 – The Gift of Rest

  1. You need to send an invitation to Anna Taylor to read your blog. I think that she would really enjoy it. Actually some of your writings remind me of her. How’s that for a compliment?! Being compared to godly mature woman like Anna!
    Love you!

Leave a Reply

