Softly & Tenderly by Sara Evans and Rachel Hauck

Drama, drama, drama… After dealing with the drama of her past (Don’t miss the first book The Sweet By & By!), Jade was expecting to enjoy married life with Max, raising their kids, her reconciled relationship with her mom, and her antique stores. However, one by one her dreams of “normality” are being replaced by more drama. Jade remains barren, but has discovered that Max has a son. Her mom is dying while her in-law’s marriage is crumbling.

The drama may have been on overload, but sometimes life is like that. This story tugged at my heart – I laughed and cried, I wanted to hug some of the characters while punching others! The characters Beryl, Jade’s mom, and June, Jade’s mother-in-law, really grew in this book and were soon my favorite part of it. Softly & Tenderly is the second book in the Songbird Novels. I would highly recommend that you read this series in order to get the full heartfelt story. The third and last book of the series, Love Lifted Me, comes out in January 2012, and I look forward to more of the story!

Disclosure: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

Leave a Reply

