Spiritual Warfare for Women by Leighann McCoy

With a subtitle like “Winning the Battle for Your Home, Family, and Friends”, I was very excited about diving into this book. Spiritual Warfare for Women is split in to four parts. The first part is about the Love of God – the most powerful weapon of all. Many people approach this subject with fear, but Leighann McCoy reminds us that “the best place to anchor your understanding of spiritual warfare is in the firm foundation of God’s constant love” (pg. 22). {Amen!} In Part 2 Mrs. McCoy exposes the enemy as she explains who he is and what he does. Spiritual warfare is real. Satan is a liar, and he is especially wanting you to be offended at anyone and with anything. However, again she points back to Christ… “Satan is a formidable foe; that is certain. But he’s defeated as well. And you and I have power and authority to whip him every time. Be reminded of this truth” (pg. 98). Part 3 expands on what areas of our lives are targets for attack. The chapters focus on our marriage, children, friendships, health, and church. The finally section encourages the reader with “Victory is Mine.” Mrs. McCoy shares the Truth about who we are in Christ, how to defeat out enemy, and why we are to fear not.

Any woman who wants to understand this subject of spiritual warfare and the victory we have Christ needs to read Spiritual Warfare for Women. It would also be an excellent resource for group study. I appreciated the way the readers are pointed back to God’s Word throughout the book. At the end of each chapter, Leighann McCoy provides a prayer and verses to memorize. This is a great way to help the reader apply the truths they are learning. Knowledge and application of the Truth – that’s what I need!

Disclosure: I received the book free from Bethany House Book Reviewers’ program. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

3 thoughts on “Spiritual Warfare for Women by Leighann McCoy

  1. I love that you are expanding upon this fundamental truth! I have just started my blog on my journey home after a 15 year teaching career! I have had to do so many things to get home and not only is it my story, I started the Teacherpreneur Network. I will be helping other teachers that retire, want to be with their children or just want change. I want to create a valuable resource for teachers to head to and feel empowered by their decision to stay home with their children and congratulated on taking the big leap! My point to so many of my friends that asked me Why leave a secure job in this economy, you already get all those days off and summer etc? I would have agreed with them until about 3 and half years ago when my son was born and at 4 weeks old I had to drop him off at a sitter to go to work and spend 8 hours with other people’s children! This made NO sense to me especially since my children were both GIFTS! I also made the choice for my career way before I had children so I had no idea how in love with them I would be! I thank you for sharing this encouraging word!

Leave a Reply

