Cure for the Common Life by Max Lucado

I could have written this review several weeks ago, but felt like I hadn’t really finished the book since I was still working on the “Sweet Spot Discovery Guide,” which is included at the end of the book. However, today I realized that my S.T.O.R.Y. won’t have any effect on my review, so I might as well not wait to HIGHLY recommend this book!

In Cure for the Common Life author Max Lucado encourages the reader to discover their S.T.O.R.Y, which he describes as:

  • S for What are your Strengths?
  • T for What is your Topic?
  • O for What are your Optimal conditions?
  • R for What about Relationships?
  • Y for When do your Strengths, Topic, Optimal conditions, and Relationship pattern converge in such a fashion that you say, Yes!”?

I enjoyed reading this book. I was encouraged, inspired, and convicted to use my uniqueness to make a big deal out of God every day of my life! God made me and want me to be me, because no one else can play my part. Also, one of the chapters “Decode Your Kid’s Code” will be an especially useful reminder to parents or those working with kids that the kids have their own S.T.O.R.Y. As I mentioned earlier, there is a two part Sweet Spot Discovery Guide at the end of the book. “Discovering what God gave you is the first step toward curing the common life.”

So, before I return to working on the “Sweet Spot Discovery Guide, I suggest that you get this book and make sure you are “living in your sweet spot.”

Disclosure: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

3 thoughts on “Cure for the Common Life by Max Lucado

Leave a Reply

