Why I blog? (part 1)

I started It’s Just Me with Goodnight, Amy! on January 31, 2006 to give my friend Amy something to read!

What was going on in my life at that time… Matt and I had been married for 6 years and had moved 3 times already. I wasn’t teaching math in high school anymore. I was raising our kids – Abbye who was 2 years old and Hannah who was 8 months. Also, in about 8 months I would find out I was pregnant with Eva. (I knew I was pregnant by The Smell of Coffee =))

Anyway, I blogged pretty regularly through 2006, was spotty in 2007, none in 2008, once in 2009, and then decided to restart in December of 2010 with Do I want to restart?.

Through the years I’ve used this blog as many things… I’ve used it to remind the Blessings Book Club about which book we were reading. I’ve shared some good deals, free stuff or contests I’ve ran across. I’ve also written tougher stuff like A Sin is a Sin, Yes?, Does Everything in My Life Have to be Planned!, and I miss my grandma!.

Entertainment Updates have been a constant. I included what I was reading, listening to, watching, and playing. These are usually written like Feb. 2, 2006 – Entertainment Update,  April 28, 2006 – Entertainment Update or April 3, 2011 – Entertainment Update, but sometimes I was more specific, as in Pride & Prejudice, To End All Wars, and You’ll be amazed!.

A blog wouldn’t be a blog without stuff about what I was learning, going through or thinking about. Some of these include Let’s Live a Life with NO Regrets!!, The Cure for Anxiety, Immediately, What I Learned Today…, My Purpose?, So Much To Do & So Little Time!, What a Wonderful Day!, They say “Don’t cry over spilled milk”…, and Good Times as a Mommy!

I also included things I wanted to share like quotes, songs, other people’s blog posts. One of my favorites is Do you wake up TO your kids or FOR your kids?. Some other examples are Deal with death again and again…, In the Garden with Adam and Eve (Beat Poetry), and Kyle Wyley. I posted The correct quote of Blaise Pascal because I found out I had posted an assumed but incorrect quote earlier. The incorrect quote was getting so much traffic that I thought I should correct it, but people keep going to the wrong one!

I’m a mom so of course I’ll include a few blogs about the kids – Hallelujah!, A Rite of Passage?!, What Makes Me Smile?, Abbye’s Poem, and Dance Recital Tomorrow. Actually, after looking back through my blog, I was surprised that there weren’t more of these.

I posted about things I’m involved in or I’ve joined, like I’m Joining Post-A-Week for 2011, Trying BookSneeze, What’s in the Bible Street Team, and Sponsoring Children.

Lastly, I’ve also included silly stuff like Eye Twitching, Not nerdy, but definitely not hip., Yummy!, What is your Perfect Major?, and of course Organizing Your Snacks!.

But what now?…

2 thoughts on “Why I blog? (part 1)

Leave a Reply

