This Little Prayer of Mine by Anthony DeStefano, illustrated by Mark Elliott

This Little Prayer of Mine is a children’s book about prayer. Prayer, talking with God, is vital in our Christian walk. However, as adults we tend to either ignore it or complicate it. I want my kids to desire to spend time with God and to simply come to Him with their childlike faith. The books is simply and clearly written, but beautifully and boldly illustrated. With four kids ages 7 and under, I have lot of experience with books for kids. I would highly recommend it. Read it with your kids and let it start (or continue) a conversation that will encourage a lifetime relationship with God that is open and honest.

Since this is a children’s book, I wanted to also share my older kids’ opinions of This Little Prayer of Mine. After we read it a couple of times, I asked, “What did you think of this book?”…

  • Eva (age 4) – “I liked it.” When I asked for her to be more specific, she said, “I loved it!”
  • Hannah (age 6) – “I like it because they talk to God just like He’s here like a friend.” She also wanted to make sure that it was our book to keep! (Meaning: not a library book that we have to return)
  • Abbye  (age 7) – “It will help lots of people because they learn that they can talk to God in any place and about anything. It reminded me that even when I’m afraid, I can talk to Him. I like that they helped the poor in the book. Even though I’m a kid, I know that God loves me and you too!”

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through Blogging for Books, Waterbrook Multnomah Publisher’s book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

One thought on “This Little Prayer of Mine by Anthony DeStefano, illustrated by Mark Elliott

Leave a Reply

