Plain Wisdom by Cindy Woodsmall & Miriam Flaud

Cindy Woodsmall and Miriam Flaud are very different. Cindy is a New York Times best-selling author. Miriam Flaud is an Old Order Amish woman. And yet, they are both wives, and mothers with dreams and a love for the Lord. Cindy and Miriam have developed a friendship and have joined to write this book. In Plain Wisdom, they have invited the readers into their lives – what they have experienced, what they have learned, what they enjoy, how they have hurt.

Honestly, it was wonderful and wanting at the same time. I enjoyed learning about the Old Order Amish’s lifestyle. However, the true treasure of the book was the advice and words of wisdom that were shared by both women. That was truly a blessing! I am still adjusting from a move away from family and community of support, so it was great to have older, wiser women to “talk” to! Also, I look forward to trying some of the recipes. But somehow it didn’t feel complete, like there could have been more. Maybe that was just because I wanted more from them?! However, now I need to begin, as they said in the book, “asking God to open doors” for me to find an older, wiser woman that would like to be my friend.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through Blogging for Books, Waterbrook Multnomah Publisher’s book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

Leave a Reply

