Love Written in Stone by Philip Carlson, MD

The book’s subtitle “Finding God’s Grace in the Boundaries He Sets” describes it well. The author, Philip Carlson, explains how God’s laws are like guardrails on the sides of a steep mountain road. They are meant to protect us, not to burden us. God’s love is “written in stone” to protect our relationships with Him and with other people. His commandments are given to keep us healthy, spiritually and physically. Carlson discusses topics ranging from sex to stewardship.

Dr. Carlson shares encouragement and hope from a combination of science and God’s Word. He also opens up about experiences from his life, his medical practice, and his work as a pastor. It was a good combination of logic, wisdom, application, and experience.

I was drawn to this book because I want to understand more of God’s grace. I want to understand it with my heart not just my mind. A quote Dr. Carlson shares from Jonathon Edwards sums it up, “He who has only doctrinal knowledge and theory, without affection, is never as engaged in the goodness of faith.” I was challenges and encouraged as I read Love Written in Stone.

Disclosure: I received book free from Bethany House Book Reviewers’ program. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

One thought on “Love Written in Stone by Philip Carlson, MD

Leave a Reply

