Promises to Keep by Ann Tatlock

The world is confusing to little Roz. Her mom has moved their family away from her violent, alcoholic dad. Her mom is sad, scared and lonely. Her older brother is angry, while their little sister is just a baby. Soon another twist is thrown in as Tillie, an old lady, shows up at their home claiming to own it. Who can Roz trust? Will her father change? Will their family ever be all together again? Who is Tillie?

I wasn’t sure if I could identify with the main character in this story, since it’s told through the eyes of an 11 year old. However, I wasn’t too far in Promises to Keep before my heart broke for Roz and her family. I felt her hope and her confusion. Now Tillie – what a wonderful character! I need a Tillie in my life! This drama was very emotional and very real… covering both the good and bad of their lives. This is my first book by Ann Tatlock to read, but it will not be my last!

“Sometimes it’s the dream that holds you down and keeps you from flying, if it’s the wrong dream. You have to let it go if you’re ever going to soar.”

Disclosure: I received book free from Bethany House Book Reviewers program. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

Leave a Reply

