Do you wake up TO your kids or FOR your kids?

This guest post by Kat on Sally Clarkson’s blog stepped on my toes and encouraged me… May it do the same for you!

Do you wake up TO your kids or FOR your kids?
I used to wake up grumpy. And bothered. And annoyed. And a whole lot of other synonyms for c-r-a-n-k-y.

Why? Because I was consistently yanked from my quiet, peaceful, cozy sleep by children dive bombing onto my bed and drilling me with questions:

“Mommy, mommy!!!!! Can I get some Cheerios?”

“Mommy, mommy!!!!! I need to go potty!!!”

“Mommy, mommy!!! She took my toy!!”

I woke up on the defensive every morning and I spent the first hour of the day just trying to get back to neutral ground. Somedays I never recovered and spent the entire day in grouchy-land.

I knew something had to change.

I decided it was time to stop waking up TO my kids and time to start waking up FOR them.

THE TRANSFORMATION
So I began getting up BEFORE my kids. I spent time reading the word, worshipping and praying for my husband and children.

It transformed me and our home.

Taking that time to let God encourage me and envision me changed the outlook for my days. When my attitude changed, my children’s attitudes changed.

Sometimes I’d even share with them the things I had prayed for them that morning.

To my 8 year old daughter:
“Good morning precious! You know, this morning, I thanked God for your passion for His Word. I love how you enjoy reading the Bible. You inspire me. This morning I prayed that you would always have a passion for His Truth.”

To my 6 year old daughter:
“Good morning lovely! You know, I’m so proud of you. Yesterday, I saw how you helped your brother and how you spent most of your afternoon trying to teach him to read. You have so much compassion. This morning I prayed that God would use your gift of compassion in amazing ways.

To my 3 year old boy:
“Good morning, my little man!!! You look so big and strong today! This morning I prayed that you would be a super hero for Jesus!!! I prayed that He would use you to fight for those in need. I prayed that you would grow up to be a man of justice.”

Now I don’t always say things like that to them each morning, but that time with the Lord puts that perspective and vision in my heart for them.

When I woke up TO my children I started the day cranky.

When I woke up FOR my children I started the day cheering them on.

If you were my child, which version of me would you want?

HOW DO YOU WAKE UP?
What kind of mom are you in the morning? What kind of mom do you think your kids want?

Even just 5 minutes of focusing on Jesus and praying for our kids can make a huge difference.

So let’s make friends with our alarm clocks. Let’s stop getting up TO our children and start getting up FOR them.
Not sure what to pray for your kids? Here is a free prayer calendar that features a different prayer topic for each day of the month.

http://www.inspiredtoaction.com/wp-content/uploads/kat/I2A_Prayer_Calendar.pdf

TIME TO TAKE ACTION
What time do you need to set your alarm clock for in order to wake up FOR your children?

Wow! It’s like Kat has been in my mind and home!! I have found this to be sooooooooooooooooooooooo true. However, I always feel behind and I can get lots done while the kids are sleeping. So I stay up late because the house needs to be cleaned, pictures edited, or other organizing needs. Or sometimes I just want a little “me time” to read or “us time” for Matt and I to watch a movie! Also, I haven’t been sleeping well. 

BUT I CHOOSE to wake up FOR my kids. I CHOOSE to be transformed by my Lord (and may that spill out all over my kids, my husband, and all others who I am around!!)!

AMEN!!

(Remember to click here to read it in its entirety.)

So… as she asked… How do you wake up?

3 thoughts on “Do you wake up TO your kids or FOR your kids?

  1. I love this post. When I get up before my kids, my day always goes SO much better. I don’t do it enough because I’m often too tired in the morning to gather the motivation but, it makes such a difference! Thanks for the reminder that it’s worth it to get up BEFORE them!

Leave a Reply

