Lady in Waiting by Susan Meissner

Lady in Waiting by Susan Meissner

The only complaint I have is that I wanted more of both stories!! I wasn’t too sure about the connection between the two tales, other than the ring, of course. However, Mrs. Meissner crafted two wonderful stories where one was truly needed by a character in the other, as you will see when you read Lady in Waiting. Mrs. Meissner brought to life two totally different times with completely different characters even though there were two accounts of “Jane” sharing the space of a single novel. Because she did that so well, I am looking forward to reading another book of hers, in which she uses a full novel to tell just one story. As you can tell, I would definitely recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a good read!

I loved following Lucy in the sixteenth-century and craved a friend like her. Also, my heart went out to the Jane in that story. However, I felt like I could connect more to the Jane in modern Manhattan. My favorite quote from the book is said concerning Jane’s marriage by her mom, “You don’t give up on someone just because that person is unhappy. And you don’t let them give up on you.”

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through Blogging for Books, Waterbrook Multnomah Publisher’s book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

2 thoughts on “Lady in Waiting by Susan Meissner

Leave a Reply

