No “Lone Ranger Mommies”

No “Lone Ranger Mommies”

Do you need more support in your homeschool journey? What are the dangers of keeping your struggles to yourself and pushing through on your own? What kind of support should you seek? Find out today on Home School Heartbeat with host Mike Farris and his guest Sally Clarkson, co-founder of Whole Heart Ministries and Mom Heart Conferences.

Mike Farris:
This week we’ve been discussing how homeschooling moms can become refreshed and renewed. Sally, I know many moms feel like they are alone in all their struggles. What advice do you have for these moms?

Sally Clarkson:
You know, I think that any woman, any man, in any idealistic situation, alone, becomes a target for Satan, for discouragement, and they will compromise their ideals eventually. God created us for fellowship. And even tonight, I’m having my monthly Bible study. I invite women in, and we spend all evening talking, praying, being friends. And I know when I was younger, I used to think, “Oh, I don’t have time for that.” But if I don’t make inroads to fellowship and to be with friends of like mind, I do become discouraged. And so I think that moms need to do whatever they can to find a prayer partner, to meet with somebody at a coffee shop, to make it a regular investment in their lives. When you have a friend or a group of friends, you’ll maintain a focus on your ideals, until you finish the objectives you’ve set out to accomplish in homeschooling.

Mike:
Sally, thank so much for your insight. It’s really been a pleasure having you with me on the program this week. Keep up the terrific work as you encourage homeschooling moms all across the world. I’m Mike Farris.

You can listen to this part of Home School Heartbeat Program and the rest of HSLDA’s Rediscovering Joy interview with Sally Clarkson here.

Leave a Reply

