American Idol?

I am trying to decide whether or not to watch American Idol this season…

To start with, I believe they began with a good balance of judges in Randy Jackson, Paula Abdul and Simon Cowell.  Randy was the mellow soul between an emotional Paula and a harsh Simon!  Then Kara DioGuardi came -I don’t think she added any thing to the show, Paula left -she was missed, and then Ellen DeGeneres came -she’s funny, but isn’t this show suppose to be about singing?!  Randy is sticking around… Thanks, Dog!!  But now since SIMON is no more, I’m not sure I’m as interested.  (For more AI thoughts from the past check out America, Remember It’s About the Singing! and I’m proud of you, Taylor! There may be others, but I haven’t always made sure to categorize each post.)  As I mentioned, he could be harsh, but he was also the most honest.  My husband and I tended to agree with Simon most of the time.  There were other times that he was dead wrong.  A good example is his non-singing related comments about people, like Mandisa.  However, she amazed everyone by saying,  “what I want to say to you is that, yes, you hurt me and I cried and it was painful, it really was.  But I want you to know that I’ve forgiven you and that you don’t need someone to apologize in order to forgive somebody.  I figure that if Jesus could die so that all of my wrongs could be forgiven, I can certainly extend that same grace to you.”  [You get to see a little of that in the first part of this YouTube Video] Amen, Sister!!  Simon apologized immediately.

Anyway, I guess what I’m wondering is do you think Jennifer Lopez and Steven Tyler are going to be the right fit for the show?  So, are you going to watch?  Why or why no?

One thought on “American Idol?

  1. I was wasting away on twitter trying to find something to cure my boredom – and ZANG – somebody I follow tweeted this post. Now, I am not quite as bored. Thanks for posting good material. – Frisbee

Leave a Reply

