America, Remember It’s About the Singing!

I was wondering…

In a singing competition like American Idol, do people vote for a contestant just because they identify with or like him or her? 

It’s happened before in Season 1.  The finally two should have been Tamyra Gray and Kelly Clarkson.  Now that would have been an awesome competition!  Justin Guarini didn’t have a chance!

I believe it also happened in Season 2.  Clay Aiken should have trumped over Ruben Studdard.  It was extremely hard to get through to vote for Clay, but the call went straight through for Ruben?!  Was there some guilt hanging around because Tamyra Gray was voted off too early?  OK, I know that the “big conspiracy theory” is not likely!  =)  Ruben winning didn’t help Tamyra at all!  But I do think there was an error.  Maybe it was with the phone lines, because after that season there were more than one phone number assigned to the contestants in the finale.

In Season 3, Jennifer Hudson would have been more competition to Fantasia Barrino in the finale.  

Concerning Season 4, I think Taylor Hicks won more on personality.  Don’t get me wrong; I think he’s talented too.  I definitely like his character as I wrote in I’m proud of you, Taylor!  However, Chris Daughtry should of been in the top two, if not the winner.  I was so glad that Ace Young and Kellie Pickler were not in the top two!  I think they lasted longer based on looks and personality than talent.  

With Season 5 I don’t have any major complaints.  As Simon predicted, Carrie Underwood has done very well. 

On in Season 6, it’s happening again with Sanjaya Malakar.  Three times someone has been voted off when he should have gone home.  As a person, I really like Sanjaya.  I think he seems very warm and friendly, very real and open.  I loved the closeness between him and his sister.  (It reminded me of my youngest brother, David, and I.  I miss you, David!)  I honestly wanted him to do well too, but he has proven that he can’t hang with the rest.  So, he must go!! 

I think the two in the finale will be two of these three: Jordin Sparks, Lakisha Jones, and Melinda Doolittle.    

What are your thoughts?

4 thoughts on “America, Remember It’s About the Singing!

  1. Just a little addition I wanted to add: I didn’t remember everyone’s names! However, on the American Idol website you can look at the previous seasons’ contestants.

  2. Here’s one more comment from me!

    I really thought that Brandon Rogers might be the one guy to give the three girls any competition!! Well, he’ll be missed.

Leave a Reply

