Pride & Prejudice

(Nicole, I know you will be interested in this!) I finally watched the newest version of Pride & Prejudice.  You know how children try to scoot closer to the TV?!  Well, that child was me tonight, literally!  I wanted to be a part of the story.  It was beautiful!  I thought they did an excellent job.  I love a great story!!  =)

Also, I previously mentioned I was reading several books at once, which is not a norm for me.  Well, I finished The Gifted by Terri Blackstock, which I highly recommend.  It’s a small book, so it won’t take you very long to read.  However, it is very powerful.  I would like to quote the author concerning why she wrote this book, “I wanted to show what could happen if we each used our gifts as God intended.  What might that look like in the church?  And how would it change us to see God working through those gifts, using every part of the Body of Christ, to minister to a hurting world?”

Now to a totally different book topic…I finished Potty Training 1-2-3 by Gary and Anne Marie Ezzo.  Hopefully, it will give me some guidance during this interesting “season” with Abbye.  (It’s a season, right Jami?!)  I borrowed our Blessings Book Club book, Waking the Dead by John Eldredge, from Corinna this last Tuesday.   Then I had it finish by Friday morning.  It was rushed, but I had to finish it before book club, which was Friday morning at 10:00!  It wasn’t a book that was easy to rush through.  A good fiction book will draw you in, and you have to finish it.  However, a nonfiction book, especially one like Waking the Dead, is so full of nuggets that need to be pondered.  Instead I quickly jotted down page numbers so that I could go back later.  I now can return to the book I started first, The Most Important Place on Earth by Robert Wolgemuth.  However, our next book for book club, Enjoying God by S. J. Hill, should be arriving any day!

(Perhaps this year Matt will give me a certificate for a full day or two of being locked in my room with several books!  I do love to read!  And there are so many books that interest me…from fiction to nonfiction…from the classics to the newest!)

3 thoughts on “Pride & Prejudice

  1. I’m so glad to know that you truly enjoyed P&P! I feel that way when I watch it as well. I just can’t get enough of the story. It is so enchanting. Jane Austen was such a fantastic writer.

  2. Austen died at age 41! Wow…that’s young! Nicole, have you ever thought about what her other books would have been like that she could have written if she lived longer?

    Corinna, I haven’t read it yet. We do have that book, but I think Mom has borrowed it.

Leave a Reply

