March 13, 2006 – Entertainment Update

Abbye’s watching Jungle Book right now.  At one of our movie stores, Total Entertainment, when you rent a new release you get a kids’ movie for free.  It’s pretty nice for people with kids or people who just like kids’ movies!!

Book – Amy, I’ll keep your suggestions in mind.  I have several books in my collection that I haven’t read yet, so I was trying to decided on which one to read.  Our book club is reading Waking the Dead by John Elgredge. I started The Most Important Place on Earth by Robert Wolgemuth and The Gifted by Terri Blackstock.  Well, I don’t normally read more than one book at a time, since I don’t have that much time.  So, hopefully I don’t get things mixed up!!  =)

MovieThe Visitation – Frank Peretti’s book made in to a movie… If anyone has read the book and watched the movie, I would like to know what you thought.  Personally, I thought the book was much better.  But isn’t that pretty normal…movies just can not do the books they represent justice!!

 

 

 

TV Show – American Idol

Game – Scrabble

Music – Matt Redman’s Where Angels Fear to Tread

4 thoughts on “March 13, 2006 – Entertainment Update

  1. “Never judge a book by its movie.”

    – J.W. Eagan

    I haven’t seen the movie, but am looking forward to it. Most of the time movies leave me cold if I have read the book….i.e. Left Behind.

  2. Corinna,
    What a great quote!

    Matt and I really wanted to see The Visitation. Since it’s on a “short wait” on Netflix, we decided to rent it. We watched it Friday and had it until Sunday, so I called you Saturday to see if you wanted to borrow it. However, you were gone for a couple days! Too bad or you could have watched it for free!

  3. Sarah,
    I watched The Visitation. I liked it, but didn’t love it. I thought that it was passable, (sp?) but I felt like the special effects made it second rate. I caught the whole “lord of the flies” reference when the people had demons, but had trouble with the people speaking in tongues when this demonic guy touched them. I do understand that some people “speak in tongues” when it has nothing to do with God….I just wouldn’t want to be the person pretending to speak in tongues in a movie. EEK!

Leave a Reply

