Read this…

trust your heart?

by Robin Lee Hatcher

How often do we hear someone use that phrase, “Trust your heart”? Lots. When someone isn’t sure what to do, some good intentioned friend says to them, “Well, just trust your heart.” Except, that isn’t such good advice.

But blessed are those who trust in the LORD and have made the LORD their hope and confidence. They are like trees planted along a riverbank, with roots that reach deep into the water. Such trees are not bothered by the heat or worried by long months of drought. Their leaves stay green, and they go right on producing delicious fruit.

The human heart is most deceitful and desperately wicked. Who really knows how bad it is? But I know! I, the LORD, search all hearts and examine secret motives. I give all people their due rewards, according to what their actions deserve. (Jeremiah 17:7-10)

My human heart wants what it wants, and often what it wants isn’t what the Lord wants for me. I have to bring myself back again and again to listening to His voice. Too often I’m guilty of doing what my heart wants and then afterward checking to see what the Lord thought of it. This is particularly true in my spending habits. I fall victim to the “wants” in life. Technology is a real weakness for me. I love it. Hey, it keeps my mind active which is supposed to keep my brain working well into old age. Right? (Oh, man. Can I justify or what!?)

My goal is to get to the place where I remember to pray about the tiniest things and/or the mundane things in my life first. Lord, I think I need a new water heater. Please guide me. Amen. No, that isn’t exciting, but it should still be prayed about. I don’t want to be deceived by my willful human heart. I want to know my Lord’s heart for me and follow it.

http://robinlee.typepad.com/i_was_just_thinking_/2006/02/trust_your_hear.html

Leave a Reply

